top of page
Buscar
  • Foto del escritorantoniolelc

SPANISH ROADS&TRIPS III

Actualizado: 20 jun 2021

PICOS DE EUROPA (EUROPE`S PEAKS).


6 days trip. 3300km. Mountains, forests, lakes and beautiful old villages. First and last day I rode alone, but rest of trip I rode with my friends.


Picos de Europa are at the north-west of Spain. They cross several regions: Leon, Cantabria and Asturias.



1º Day. From home nothing interesting. Mostly boring highway to get there as soon as possible. Only last part of the day I could manage to visit 2 special villages before get my hotel in la Bañeza. "Mozarabe" Architectonic Style Church in San Cebrian de Mazote. "Mozarabe" Style is reverse than "Mudejar". You can see Mudejar in Silent Route (Spanish Roads&Trips II). And Urueña with his defensive wall.



San Cebrian de Mazote Mozarabe Style Church, Urueña`s Wall and La Bañeza´s Square.


La Bañeza is famed of his urban-classic motorbike race.



2º Day. From la Bañeza I decided to visit east part of Picos de Europa: Somiedo Natural Park and Babia region. But first of all I had to cross 2 high ports: Portillinos and Morredero. After them I saw old village Peñalba de Santiago (another Mozarabe Church).

While I was riding these zones my friends were coming from home. We finally get all together at the end of the day in our "Rendezvous" point in Molina Seca. Our base to visit rest of Picos de Europa.


GPS TRACK:

SOMIEDO
.gpx
Download GPX • 711KB

Climbing Portillinos.


Different colours. Yellow/purple flowers, grey rocks and green grass.


Peñalba de Santiago.


To get Peñalba de Santiago we have to get in/out using the same road. It is a dead end road. Not very long. But It has several "Tornantis" and beutiful landscape views.


After Leon I got in Asturias. Somiedo Natural Park and Babia region. I climbed 3 ports: Somiedo, San Lorenzo and Ventana. You have to be careful with bears. They are not usually dangerous but sometimes they can attack. Early morning or lately evening time is probably the worst moment. Avoid camp here. Also there are cows everywhere and everytime, so you have to ride carefully. Not only to avoid cows, in addition to avoid their big slippery shits...





Last part of trip I rode next to a lake shore: Barrios de Luna Lake.




Molinaseca. Our "Rendezvous/Base" point and base. We stayed here for 3 days. Riding surrounding areas. Every night after ride we enjoyed having dinner.


3º day. West Picos de Europa zone.


Leitariegos, Palo and Connio Ports. Road was sometime a bit "trail". Narrow and rough surface.






Cows like Orange Honda???


4º Day. Bordering Picos de Europa at the westest zone and get the northest point of Spain (In Galicia Region): Estaca de Bares ( Bares Cape).





5º day. We left our base in Molinaseca to ride east direction. For me it was the best day. Road was in perfect condition mostly, landscape views were wonderful. My friends wanted to finish this stage further than me. They wanted to visit another zone : Los 3 valles de la Rioja. (3 Rioja´s Valley).



But I didn´t ride with them so far. I prefered to continue riding south heading in order to make shorter the next and last day. I was a bit tired. So after Orbaneja del Castillo we said goodbye.



Riaño´s Lake.



West part of Picos de Europa, Atienza´s castle, Orbaneja del castillo´s waterfalls...


6º day. Come back home from Burgo de Osma. My first intention was to get again in touch with my friends later during these stage because last part was same. I am quieter and slower rider (my friends are faster than me) and I suppoused they reach me during day, but it wasn´t. I wanted arrive home early, so I prefered not waste time waiting them. In the end, I rode alone all day. I enjoyed with lonely plains of Soria and twisty foresty road zone north of Cuenca. Last part was a bit bored. Highway, hot and windy. When I arrived home I was a bit tired, but peaceful mind. After 6 months covid restrictions this travel was very appreciated.








424 visualizaciones1 comentario

Entradas Recientes

Ver todo
Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page